In 14 years, Romanians have made 820 million payments through the PayPoint Romania network

Mihai-Alexandru Cristea 11/08/2021 | 16:15

In the 14 years since PayPoint entered the Romanian market, Romanians have made over 820 million payments worth 69 billion lei, though the company’s national network.

 

Of these, approximately 123 million payments were made in the last year alone (July 2020 – July 2021), and their value amounts to over 13 billion lei. The average value of a transaction, according to data from the last 13 years, was 80 lei, and in the last year it has increased to 105 lei.

“In 14 years we have developed long-term partnerships with over 210 providers of telecommunications, utilities, transportation and financial services, the goal being to provide customers with secure payment solutions, accessible both in urban and rural areas. The PayPoint strategy has always been a consumer-oriented one and its needs: we have invested both in infrastructure and network expansion nationwide, to increase its accessibility, but also in technology, to provide secure and efficient payment solutions to any customer.

Our plans are focused on the same vision, to provide customers with secure and complete services for paying bills, as well as other services such as electronic top-up, mortgage payments or vignette payment. We will continue to develop the range of services offered, one of our priorities being the modernization of our terminal network. At the same time, we are working to develop new electronic services to add value to consumers and traders.” – Utku Ogrendil, CEO of PayPoint Romania

At the moment, the PayPoint network counts over 19,000 partner locations, being extended in 5,520 locations in rural and urban areas. Currently, the company collects over 100 million bill payments for 85% of Romanian utility and telecommunications providers. Since December 2020, PayPoint has also launched its own mobile application, which has reached over 50,000 users and offers a digital alternative to paying bills and other services.

PayPoint is currently the main operator of cash payments and electronic top-up through retail points in Romania. The company has entered the market in May 2007 through the acquisition of Paystore, a local provider of electronic top-up services. In 2008, PayPoint also entered the bill payment retail segment. Since March 2021, the assets and operations of PayPoint Services SRL are owned by the private equity fund Innova Capital.

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Mihai-Alexandru Cristea | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue