tbi bank reports 40% growth and highest Q1 profit

Miruna Macsim 21/05/2024 | 12:39

tbi bank’s consolidated unaudited financial results for the first quarter of 2024 show net profit of EUR 11.3 million – almost 40% higher than the EUR 8.2 million profit achieved for the same period of last year.

 

 

Throughout Q1 2024 tbi onboarded new merchant partners, including new verticals (like solar panels), and is now present in over 26.000 merchant partner check-out points on its markets of operation – Bulgaria, Romania and Greece. This impressive reach helped the bank maintain the leadership in terms of provided Payment Plans in all three countries. Additionally, the bank continued adapting to both the market environment and consumer preferences.

In Q1 of 2024 tbi bank serviced nearly 500.000 loan applications in Bulgaria, Romania and Greece, marking 33% growth compared to Q1 of 2023. In the first quarter of 2024 the bank disbursed 200.000 loans at the amount of quarter a billion Euro – 21% more compared to the same period of 2023. The growth is due to the contribution of the retail segments in all three markets of operation.

tbi reports an impressive nearly 35% growth in total assets as to the end of Q1 2024, reaching EUR 1.57 billion (from EUR 1.16 billion at the end of March 2023). The loan portfolio stands at EUR 1.1 billion (28% growth compared to end of Q1 2023).

Based on such positive business performance, tbi bank’s operating income grew by nearly 30% to EUR 58 million, mainly driven by a 36% increase in net interest income. This allowed operating profit for Q1 2024 to reach EUR 40 million.

Also, tbi bank’s deposit portfolio reached EUR 1.2 billion at the end of March 2024 – well outperforming the market and demonstrating a solid growth of 37% compared to end of Q1 2023. The main driver was the retail term deposits portfolio, where the increase was even higher with 45% compared to March 2023.

The increase in the bank’s general expenses by 21% to EUR 27 million was mainly driven by continuous investments in technology and AI solutions to support the development of new products in all markets.

At the end of March 2024, the bank had a strong and well secured position from both liquidity and capital sides – on consolidated basis the liquidity coverage ratio (LCR) being at 722% (much above banking sector average) and the capital adequacy ratio (CAR) – 21.5%. tbi bank’s operations are showing constant improving discipline in terms of cost management (46.7% cost to income ratio in Q1 2024 compared to 50.1% in Q1 2023) and are combined with return on loan portfolio at 21.7%, allowing the return on equity to reach 19.4%. 

“In the first quarter of 2024 tbi once more demonstrated outstanding results thanks to an excellent team performance and strong customer-focus. We continue investing in our products and services as well as in our talent’s innovative mindset, says Petr Baron, CEO of tbi fs. We remain committed to providing access to free daily banking and financing to our retail customers and merchant partners in Bulgaria, Romania, and Greece. As one of digital banking pioneers in the region our model is aimed to show more business growth in the years to come”.  

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF: Business Review Magazine June 2024 Issue

The June 2024 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “VTEX secures landmark partnership with major German retailer”. To
Miruna Macsim | 06/06/2024 | 16:28
Advertisement Advertisement
Close ×

We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

Accept & continue