It’s happening in Bucharest: Opera 9 – A contemporary Oedipus

Oana Vasiliu 08/05/2017 | 12:16

The National George Enescu Museum continues its ongoing project of stimulating young composers to write variations on a given theme from Enescu’s extended work. OPERA 9 is a collective opera, with nine scenes written by nine different composers – Gabriel Malancioiu, Sebastian Dumitrescu, Adina Sibianu, Cristian Bence-Muk, Megumi Okuda, Diana-Iulia Simon, Alexandru Sima, Diana Rotaru and Sabina Ulubeanu – on a contemporary version of the tragic story of Oedipus.

The libretto is written by Rucsandra Pop, the main source of inspiration being, of course, Enescu’s masterpiece, the opera Oedipe.

The Oedipus Myth was adjusted to our Zeitgeist, a mix of tragedy and absurd humor, as you may follow the hero, Iocasta, Antigona as well as other characters going through an unusual journey comprising, among others, a lullaby, a car accident, a psychotherapy session, a technologic contagion, an app that reveals your destiny or the blind man who sees the Truth.

OPERA 9 is part of the ongoing N-ESCU project coordinated by composer Adina Sibianu. The first performance of this new modular opera will take place on May 9, at the Cantacuzino Palace (home of the Enescu Museum – Calea Victoriei 141) at 7 PM.

Performing as soloists are two of the most active and appreciated singers in Romania, Iustinian Zetea – Bass (Oedipus) and Antonela Barnat – mezzosoprano (Jocasta, Merope, Antigone and Oculist), as well as SonoMania New Music Ensemble, conducted by Vlad Agachi: Valentin Ghita – oboe, Mihai Pintenaru – clarinet (as well as the part of the Sphinx), Raluca Stratulat – violin, Tamara Dica – viola and Emanuela Profirescu – piano.


Prologue – Adina Sibianu (Bucharest) for ensemble

Lullaby – Gabriel Malancioiu (Timişoara) for mezzo and tape

Oraclify – Sebastian Dumitrescu (Finland) for bass, ensemble and tape

The Death of Lajos – Cristian Bence-Muk (Cluj) for bass, mezzo and ensemble

Sphinx – Megumi Okuda (Bucharest) for clarinet, violin and viola

Psychodania – Diana Simon (Bucharest) for mezzo and tape

Technologic Contagion – Alexandru Sima (Bucharest) for ensemble

Oculus – Diana Rotaru (Bucharest) for bass, mezzo and ensemble

The Death of Oedipus – Sabina Ulubeanu (Bucharest) for bass, mezzo and ensemble

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: October 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The October 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Globalworth Successfully Addressing Market Challenges From a Position
Oana Vasiliu | 26/10/2022 | 17:53

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue