Romania’s inflation rose to 4.1 pct on higher food prices

Paul Barbu 12/08/2019 | 12:04

Romania’s annual inflation rate rose to 4.1 percent in July, from 3.84 percent in June, on the back of 5.15 percent higher food prices, 4.11 percent more expensive services and 3.44 percent more expensive non-food goods, according to data from the National Institute of Statistics (INS).

“Consumer prices in July 2019 compared to July 2018 increased by 4.1 percent. The average rate of consumer prices in the last 12 months (August 2018 – July 2019) compared to the previous 12 months (August 2017 – July 2018), calculated on the basis of the consumer prices indices (ICP) is 4.0 percent,” said INS representatives.

In July compared to the previous month, consumer prices fell slightly, by 0.2 percent, while food decreased by 0.66 percent, non-food goods by 0.02 percent and services were more expensive by 0.1 percent.

Potatoes and citrus were the most expensive foods in the first seven months of this year, with price increases of more than 20 percent, and in terms of non-food goods, a considerable price advance was recorded for tobacco and fuels, according to data from the National Institute of Statistics.

 

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Paul Barbu | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue