Romania’s foreign debt up 1.7 pct in Jan-Apr to EUR 95.07 bln

Sorin Melenciuc 13/06/2018 | 12:49

Romania’s total external debt grew by 1.7 percent in the first four months of this year compared with December 2017, to EUR 95.07 billion, due mainly to rising short term debt, National Bank of Romania (BNR) data show.

The public debt declined by EUR 103 million, from EUR 33.534 billion in December 2017 to EUR 33.431 billion at the end of April, while the non-publicly guaranteed debt (mostly private) declined by EUR 779 million, to EUR 33.129 billion.

The long term external debt amounted to EUR 67.73 billion in April, down 1.3 percent compared with December 2017.  The short term external debt increased by 10 percent to EUR 27.34 billion.

The external rate service ratio on the long term was 19.9 percent in January-April, compared with 23.9 percent in 2017. The coverage level of goods and services imports at end-April was 5.3 months, compared with 5.4 months in December 2017, according to the central bank.

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Sorin Melenciuc | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue