Romania’s 3M ROBOR hits 3-month high

Sorin Melenciuc 19/02/2019 | 11:30

Romania’s three-month money market rate (ROBOR), the main indicator that sets the interest rates for RON currency borrowers, rose on Tuesday to 3.19 percent, the highest level since November 26, 2018, on liquidity shortages.

On Monday, 3-month ROBOR was 3.14 percent.

The 6-month ROBOR increased to 3.36 percent, the highest level since December 10, 2018.

Compared with the end of 2018, the 3-month index rose by 0.17 percentage point, from 3.02 percent. The 3-month ROBOR index reached a record low of 0.68 percent in September 2016.

The highest rates are mainly due to temporary liquidity shortages at the end of the reserve maintenance period, as some players are becoming more anxious and are paying up to secure funding needs, according to experts.

The Romanian government has introduced a tax on bank assets of 0.3 percent from January 1st, 2019, calculated at the current ROBOR 3M-6M level.

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Sorin Melenciuc | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue