Romania’s 3-month ROBOR hits fresh 3y8m high of 2.92 pct

Sorin Melenciuc 18/06/2018 | 11:17

Romania’s three month money market rate (ROBOR), the main indicator that sets the interest rates for RON currency borrowers, reached on Monday a new record of the last three years and eight months of 2.92 percent, National Bank of Romania (BNR) data show.

The ROBOR 3M calculated for June 18, 2018, is the highest since October 13, 2014. The 3M rate rose by 0.02 percentage point from the previous market session.

Compared with the end of 2017, the 3-month index rose by 0.87 percentage points, from 2.05 percent.

On May 7, Romania’s central bank raised the monetary interest rate from 2.25 percent to 2.5 percent, the highest level since February 2015, in line with economists’ expectations, who see the decision as a consequence of upward revision of the inflation forecast.

Analysts say the 3-month money market rate should be above the central bank’s policy rate.

The 3-month ROBOR index reached a record low of 0.68 percent in September 2016.

The 6-month ROBOR index rose to 3.03 percent on Monday, a record high since September 30, 2014.

Romania’s central bank also had weekly open market operations during the last two months, absorbing excess liquidity in the market.

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Sorin Melenciuc | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue