Romania enters 2019 with EUR 36.8 billion in foreign currency and gold reserves

Aurel Dragan 04/01/2019 | 09:54

Romania’s international reserves (foreign currency and gold) stood at EUR 36.8 billion at the end of last year, up from EUR 36.13 billion in November 2018, but down from EUR 33.49 billion in December 2017.

On 31 December 2018, the National Bank of Romania’s (BNR) foreign exchange reserves stood at EUR 33.06 billion, compared to EUR 32.53 billion on 30 November 2018.

During December, there were EUR 1.64 billion worth of inflows representing changes in credit institutions’ foreign currency-denominated required reserves, inflows into the Ministry of Public Finance’s accounts (including the amount from the issuance of bonds with nominal value of EUR 251.5 million on the domestic market), inflows into the European Commission’s account, and other. Also, there were EUR 1.106 billion worth of outflows representing changes in credit institutions’ foreign currency-denominated required reserves, interest payments and principal repayments on foreign currency public debt, and other.

The gold stock remained unchanged at 103.7 tonnes. However, following the change in the international price of gold, its value amounted to EUR 3.735 billion.

During January 2019, the payments due on the foreign currency-denominated public and publicly guaranteed debt amount to approximately EUR 1.037 billion.

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Aurel Dragan | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue