Mugur Isarescu secures another 5-year term as the head of Romania’s central bank. The full list of board members

Sorin Melenciuc 03/07/2019 | 17:06

Mugur Isarescu, currently the longest serving central bank governor in the world, has secured another 5-year term at the head of Romania’s central bank as it won the support of the ruling governing alliance and of opposition parties. The Romanian Parliament has approved on Wednesday the new members of the executive board of the central bank (BNR).

Isarescu, aged 70, is ending in October 2019 his current 5-year term at the head of the central bank and it is was not clear so far if he will run for another term. But PSD, the main ruling party, unexpectedly choose to support him for another term and the decision was followed by the junior member of the ruling alliance, ALDE.

Apparently, the governing alliance PSD-ALDE decided to support Isarescu for another term at the central bank as it has no suitable candidate for the top position.

The central bank’s board include 9 members.

The full list of members in the next 5-year term:

  • Mugur Isarescu – governor
  • Florin Georgescu – first deputy governor
  • Leonardo Badea – deputy governor
  • Eugen Nicolaescu – deputy governor
  • Csaba Balint – member
  • Gheorghe Gherghina – member
  • Cristian Popa – member
  • Radu Rușanu – member
  • Virgiliu Stoenescu – memeber

Five of the new board members were reelected – Isarescu, Georgescu, Nicolaescu, Gherghina and Stoenescu.

Isarescu has been a governor of the BNR since 1990 and he is the longest serving central bank governor in the world.

Close ×

We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

Accept & continue