Romania’s natural gas needs covered by internal production up to March 2017

Newsroom 22/03/2016 | 16:38

Romania’s natural gas consumption, including the population and power plants supplying heat, will be using only gas resulted from internal production between April 1, 2016 and March 31, 2017, according to a statement by the National Regulatory Authority for Energy (ANRE).

The total amount of natural gas estimated to be used by households and power plants in this period is 42.3 million MWh, of which 34.8 million MWh in the winter months and 7.5 million MWh in the summer. Domestic gas producers are obliged to provide those quantities of gas to cover the consumption for households and power plants, ANRE stated.

Representatives added that during this period the amount of gas extracted from deposits must not exceed 40 percent of total monthly consumption.

Romania’s consumption fell by 4.5 percent last year, from 127 million MWh in 2014 to 121.1 million MWh in 2015. The report shows that Romania used 7.5 percent import natural gas, as opposed to the period before the crisis, when our country imported about a quarter of its necessities. Consumption has been dropping steadily as large industrial consumers have shut down.

The price of natural gas imported from the Russian market in December last year stood at RON 89.92 per MWh, which was 18 percent higher than the price of internal production gas (RON 75.37 per MWh).

Import prices stood at RON 136 per MWh at the beginning of the year, climbing to RON 142 per MWh in March, then dropping constantly along the year, influenced by the falling international oil market. The price of natural gas delivered by producers to consumers in the regulated market reached RON 59.88 in December 2015.

Natalia Martian

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue