Romania sees EUR 160 mln current account surplus in Jan 2016

Newsroom 21/03/2016 | 14:08

Romania saw a current account surplus of EUR 160 million in January 2016, compared to a current account deficit of EUR 400 million in December 2015, not seasonally adjusted, according to Eurostat data. Year-on-year, in January 2015 the current account surplus was of EUR 330 million compared to this year.

Overall, the EU28 seasonally adjusted current account of the balance of payments saw a surplus of EUR 14.3 billion in January 2016, compared with surpluses of EUR 17.0 billion in December 2015 and EUR 21.4 billion in January 2015.

In January 2016, compared with December 2015, the surplus of the goods account grew (EUR +13.0 billion compared to EUR+12.1 billion) and the deficit of the secondary income account fell slightly (EUR -7.0 billion compared with EUR -7.3 billion). The surplus of the services account decreased (EUR +11.9 billion compared with EUR +13.1 billion) and the deficit of the primary income account increased (EUR -3.7 billion compared with EUR – 0.9 billion).

The twelve-month cumulated current account for the period ending in January 2016 recorded a surplus of EUR 181.2 billion, compared with EUR 138.2 billion for the 12 months to January 2015. The surplus of the goods account increased (EUR +116.7 billion compared with EUR +43.8 billion) as did the surplus of the services account (EUR +154.8 billion compared with EUR +153.8 billion).

The deficit of the secondary income account increased (EUR -77.9 billion compared with EUR -76.3 billion) and the surplus of the primary income account moved into deficit (EUR -12.4 billion compared with EUR 16.9 billion).

Andreea Tint

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue