Romania reports steepest building construction drop in the EU this June

Newsroom 20/08/2013 | 18:00

Building construction increased in four EU member states and dropped in six this June compared to the previous month, according to Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union. Romania reported the largest monthly decrease (-2.4 percent) followed by Portugal (-2.2 percent) and Sweden (-0.9 percent). The increases were reported in Slovenia (+10.5 percent), Poland (+5.3 percent), Germany (+1.6 percent) and the Czech Republic (+1.3 percent) while Spain, France and Hungary registered stable figures.

Overall, the seasonally adjusted production in the construction sector was up by 0.7 percent in the euro area and by 0.8 percent in the EU272 in June 2013, compared with the previous month. In May 2013 production rose by 0.5 percent and 0.3 percent respectively.

Compared with June 2012, production decreased by 3.0 percent in the euro area and by 1.5 percent in the EU27 in June 2013. Ten member states reported drops and only 3 saw higher productions y-o-y.The largest decreases were registered in Poland (-16.3 percent), Portugal (-12.0 percent), Slovakia (-10.7 percent) and the Czech Republic (-9.8 percent), and the increases in Hungary (+12.5 percent), Spain (+4.1 percent) and Sweden (+3.1 percent).

Simona Bazavan

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue