Romania registers second negative inflation in EU in December 2015

Newsroom 19/01/2016 | 16:54

Romania was among twelve member states across the European Union to register a negative inflation in December 2015, ranking second with a -0.7 percent inflation rate, after Bulgaria (-0.9 percent), according to data released by Eurostat, the statistical office of the EU.

The highest annual rates were recorded in Belgium (1.4 percent), Malta (1.2 percent) and Austria (1.1 percent).

Both the EU and the euro area registered annual inflation rates of 0.2 percent in December 2015, both climbing from the 0.1 percent registered at the end of 2014.

Compared with November 2015, annual inflation fell in nine member states, remained stable in three and rose in 15. Romania saw a 0.2 percent increase in the inflation rate in December 2015 compared to the previous month.

Romania’s inflation entered negative territory in the summer of 2015 when VAT for food products was reduced from 24 to 9 percent. The National Bank estimates negative values will persist until May this year, ending 2016 at 1.1 percent and entering the central bank’s target interval (2.5 percent, plus/minus 1) in 2017.

The European Central Bank is counting on a rise in prices of below 2 percent in the euro area. However, the inflation was below the target since early 2013 and last year even fell into negative territory while the oil price have been significantly reduced.

Natalia Martian

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue