Romania ranks 3rd in EU for highest increases in production in construction

Newsroom 17/02/2016 | 16:08

Romania registered a 13.9 percent growth rate for production in construction in December 2015 compared to December 2014, according to data published by Eurostat, making it third among member states for which data are available, behind Slovakia (24.9 percent) and Sweden (15.2 percent).

At the other end of the spectrum, the largest decreases in construction production were recorded in Slovenia (9.3 percent), Portugal, (4.7 percent), France (3.6 percent) and the Netherlands (3.1 percent). In total, the EU28 saw an increase of 1.4 percent in construction production due to civil engineering rising by 2.8 percent and building construction by 1.2 percent, says Eurostat.

As for the monthly evolution, Romania registered the highest increase in production in construction in December 2015 compared to November 2015, going up by 5.8 percent, followed by Slovakia (4.3 percent) and Sweden (2.6 percent). The largest decreases were recorded in Slovenia (12.5 percent), France (1.6 percent) and the Netherlands (0.9 percent). At the EU level, there was 0.1 percent decrease in December 2015 compared to the previous month due to building construction falling by 0.5 percent while civil engineering rose by 2.6 percent, further adds Eurostat.

Last week, the Romanian National Institute of Statistics published a report saying that construction work in Romania went up by 10.4 percent (gross series) in 2015 over 2014.

Andreea Tint

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue