Romania posts highest y-o-y retail trade increase in EU

Newsroom 09/11/2015 | 16:29

In September 2015 Romania posted a 12 percent year on year increase in retail trade volumes, the highest among the 28 EU members, according to data from the Eurostat, Europe’s statistical office.

In the context of a 3.7 percent increase when across the EU in retail trade, Romania was followed by Ireland with an 8 percent rise and Poland and the United Kingdom (6.3 percent). Decreases were observed in Luxembourg (11.8 percent), Bulgaria (2.5 percent) and Slovenia (0.4 percent).

The 3.7 percent increase in EU’s retail trade volume is due to rises of 5.3 percent for automotive fuel, of 4.9 percent for non-food products and of 2.3 percent for food, drinks and tobacco.

When comparing September 2015 against August 2015, Romania came second with a 1.7 percent climb, after the United Kingdom (2 percent) and before Malta (1.1 percent) and Ireland (0.9 percent).

The largest drops in retail trade among member states were registered in Portugal (2.2 percent), Belgium, Denmark, Latvia and Poland (all 0.7 percent).

The EU saw an overall 0.3 percent increase in the volume of retail trade due to rises of 0.4 percent for both automotive fuel and non-food products, while food, drinks and tobacco sales remained stable.

The eurozone saw a 0.1 percent drop in retail sales in September over August 2015, while year on year it posted a 2.9 percent increase.

Natalia Martian

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue