Romania posts highest construction output increase in February, says Eurostat

Newsroom 20/04/2015 | 16:21

Romania recorded in February the fastest growth rhythm of construction output in the European Union, as compared to January but also against February 2014, respectively 5.3 percent and 19.5 percent, according to data published on Monday by Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union.

In contrast, the largest decreases in production in construction were observed in Germany (-3.1 percent), France and Portugal (both -2.2 percent), and the highest increases, except for Romania (+5.3 percent), in Poland (+3.8 percent) and Hungary (+3.2 percent).

In February 2015 against the previous month, seasonally adjusted production in the construction sector fell by 1.8 percent in the euro area (EA19) and by 1.2 percent in the EU282. In January 2015, production in construction grew by 1.6 percent and 0.6 percent respectively. In February 2015 compared with February 2014, production in construction fell by 3.7 percent in the euro area and by 2.4 percent in the EU28.

The 3.7 percent decrease in construction output in the euro area in February 2015, compared to February 2014, is due to building construction falling by 4 percent and civil engineering by 2.7 percent.

In the EU28, the decrease of 2.4 percent is due to building construction falling by 2.7% and civil engineering by 0.5 percent. Among member states for which data are available, the largest decreases in construction production were registered in Germany (-8.1 percent), France (-7.9 percent) and Portugal (-4.5 percent), and the highest increases in Romania (+19.5 percent), Sweden (+9.4 percent), and the Czech Republic (+6.2 percent).

The decrease of 1.8 percent in construction output in the euro area in February 2015, compared to the previous month, is due to building construction falling by 1.6 percent and civil engineering by 2.6 percent. In the EU28, the decrease of 1.2 percent is due to building construction falling by 1.1 percent and civil engineering by 1.6 percent.

Staff

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Newsroom | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue