Romania has among lowest annual inflation rates in EU

Newsroom 17/11/2015 | 11:48

Romania’s inflation rate stayed in the negative domain in October, reaching -1.4 percent and coming in next to last among EU member states, according to data released by Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union.

The annual rate registered in September 2015 stood at -1.5 percent, while in October 2014 it reached 1.8 percent.

Cyprus came in last with an annual rate of -1.8 percent, while Bulgaria (-1.2 percent), Slovenia (-1.1 percent) and Spain (-0.9 percent) had better rates than Romania. The highest annual rates were recorded in Malta (1.6 percent), Belgium (1.2 percent), Sweden (0.9 percent), Austria and Portugal (both 0.7 percent).

Compared with September 2015, annual inflation fell in four Member States, remained stable in seven and rose in sixteen. Romania saw a 0.3 percent rise over September.

European Union annual inflation was 0.0 percent in October 2015, up from -0.1 percent in September. A year earlier the rate was 0.5 percent.

Euro area annual inflation was 0.1 percent in October 2015, up from -0.1 percent in September. In October 2014 the rate was 0.4 percent. The largest upward impacts to the eurozone annual inflation came from vegetables (+0.14 percentage points), restaurants & cafes (+0.10 pp) and fruit (+0.07 pp), while fuels for transport (-0.68 pp), heating oil (-0.22 pp) and gas (-0.09 pp) had the biggest downward impacts.

Natalia Martian

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue