Retail turnover volumes continue to rise in September 2015

Newsroom 03/11/2015 | 11:46

Retail turnover volumes in September 2015 showed a 10.9 percent increase year on year, while compared to the previous month the rise registered was of 1.7 percent in adjusted series, latest data from the National Institute for Statistics (INS) show.

In gross series, yearly numbers presented a 12 percent increase, while against the previous month there was a 0.6 percent drop.

Compared to September 2014, retail turnover volume adjusted series growth in September 2015 was determined by the sale of food, beverages and tobacco (+27.3 percent), the retail of automotive fuel (+5.2 percent) and the sale of non‐food products (+3.8 percent).

In gross series, the sale of food, beverages and tobacco (+27.6 percent), the sale of non‐food products (+5.2 percent) and the retail of automotive fuel (+4.6 percent) brought the overall increase.

The adjusted series increase over August 2015 was due to the increments registered by the sale of non‐food products (+2.7 percent), by the sale of food, beverages and tobacco (+1.2 percent) and by the retail of automotive fuel in specialized stores (+0.7 percent).

In gross series, food, beverages and tobacco saw a 5.1 percent drop, while fuel sale decreased by 3.9 percent. The sale of non‐food products increased by 5.5 percent

When comparing the first nine months of 2015 with the same period of the previous year, retail volumes went up both as gross series and as adjusted series by 6.9 percent and by 6.4 percent, respectively, aided by food, beverages and tobacco (16.3 percent in gross series and 15.4 percent in adjusted series), automotive fuel sales (5.4 percent and 5 percent, respectively) and sale of non‐food products (0.6 percent and 0.8 percent).

Natalia Martian

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: December 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The December 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Xclusiverse: Going Beyond the Traditional Ways of Doing Business.”
Newsroom | 19/12/2022 | 18:45

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue