RCS&RDS and Radiocom get the green light for the digital television tender

Newsroom 16/05/2014 | 12:20

Telecom operator RCS & RDS and the National Radio-communications Company (Radiocom), both of which have submitted offers for the digital television tender, will go to the next stage.

After reviewing the files submitted by the two companies, the tender committee decided that they meet all the criteria.

Until May 19, 2014, the decision of the committee can be contested by any discontent parties.

By May 22, the committee should announce the organization of the tender rounds, in case the demand is higher than the offer.

The country’s telecom watchdog ANCOM is in charge of allocating five national digital multiplexes in the DVB-T2 standard: four in the UHF (ultra-high frequency) band and one in the VHF (very-high frequency) band. All the multiplexes will be awarded for a ten-year period. The licenses will be valid from June 17, 2015.

The starting price for each multiplex will be EUR 300,000, a minimum tax settled by the government at the ANCOM proposal. All the multiplexes will be granted for 10 years, and the licenses will come into force starting June 2015. The winner must pay the license tax within at most 90 days since the results of the selection procedures.

Romania will be among the last European countries to switch off its terrestrial analog signal and make the transition to digital terrestrial television, which is set to happen on June 17, 2015.

 Otilia Haraga

 

 

 

 

 

 

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: October 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The October 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Globalworth Successfully Addressing Market Challenges From a Position
Newsroom | 26/10/2022 | 17:53

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue