New house prices down by 53 pct in Bucharest since 2008, says Imobiliare.ro

Newsroom 19/06/2014 | 14:30

New house prices have dropped in Bucharest by 53 percent since six years ago when the residential market reached its peak, according to data from real estate portal Imobiliare.ro. Outside the capital the drop was below 50 percent.

If in April 2008 the average per square price for new apartments in Bucharest was EUR 2,576, this dropped by 53 percent to EUR 1,204/sqm this May. A studio apartment presently costs EUR 45,000 while a one-bedroom apartment can be bought for EUR 74,000 on and a two-bedroom unit for EUR 111,600, on average.

Outside Bucharest, average prices of new apartments dropped during the same time period by 51 percent in Brasov (down from EUR 1,619/sqm in September 2008 to EUR 799/sqm at present), close to 50 percent in Constanta (down from EUR 1,780/sqm in September 2008 to EUR 893/sqm in May) and 43 percent in Cluj-Napoca (down from EUR 1,382/sqm in May 2008 to EUR 783/sqm this May. Average prices for new apartments in Timisoara dropped by 33 percent (down from EUR 1,301 in April 2008 to EUR 868/sqm in May),  this being the lowest decrease reported across the country since the beginning of the crisis.

Simona Bazavan

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: July August 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The June 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Companies Embracing Sustainability For A Better Future” Read it online
Newsroom | 02/08/2022 | 10:15

You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu

Close ×

We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

Accept & continue