Eugène Ysaÿe staged at the Bucharest National Opera

Newsroom 08/01/2013 | 09:41

Romanian violinist Alexandru Tomescu together with actors Ana Pepine and Paul Cimpoieru will deliver on January 14, at the Bucharest National Opera, a performance of Eugène Ysaÿe’s obsessions: the music of the Six Sonatas for a solo violin.

Eugène Ysaÿe’s Six sonatas for solo violin, Op. 27, is a set of sonatas for unaccompanied violin written in July 1923. Each sonata was dedicated to one of Ysaÿe’s contemporary violinists: Joseph Szigeti (No. 1), Jacques Thibaud (No. 2), George Enescu (No. 3), Fritz Kreisler (No. 4), Mathieu Crickboom (No. 5), and Manuel Quiroga (No. 6).

The concert is held for the Romanian Special Olympics Foundation, helping the disabled sportspeople to participate at the Special Olympics World Winter Games 2013, which will take place in PyeongChang, Korea. Romania’s delegation will include ten sportspeople who will perform at alpine skiing, snow skiing and riding snowshoe.

Tickets can be bought from the Eventim network – Vodafone, Germanos, Orange, Domo, Humanitas bookstores, Cărturești bookstores, Sala Palatului and online at

Oana Vasiliu

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: July 2023 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The July 2023 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “At a Crossroads: Budget Deficit Endangering Romania’s Economic
Newsroom | 31/07/2023 | 14:14

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of

    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by

    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue