Businessman Gruia Stoica sentenced to 4 years of prison in influence peddling case

Newsroom 05/03/2015 | 15:11

Businessman Gruia Stoica, the owner the GFR railway company, was sentenced to four years in prison and three years of certain rights’ banning in an influence peddling case, according to Mediafax. In the same file, lawyer Doru Bostina was sentenced to three years in prison for influence peddling. Stoica was found guilty of having given Bostina EUR 3 million to find out the price requested by CFR Marfa at an auction for coal transportation, organized by Oltenia Energy Complex, and attended also by GFR.

The sentence is not final.

Ploiesti Court of Appeal, court judging the corruption trial in which businessman Gruia Stoica and lawyer Doru Bostina were indicted, decided on Thursday to convict GFR owner Gruia Stoica to four years in prison.

The magistrates decided to reduce this penalty, considering that over the trial period Gruia Stoica was detained for 24 hours on January 29, 2014, was taken into custody between January 30 and May 9, 2014, and was under home arrest from May 10, 2014 to date.

However, the judges have upheld the preventive measure of home arrest, while the sentence is not final. Attorney Doru Bostina was also sentenced in the file to three years in prison for the crime of influence peddling.

Gruia Stoica was detained on remand in this case of corruption last year in late January, the anticorruption prosecutors having charged him with influence peddling, after he allegedly had given Doru Bostina EUR 3 million for finding out the price requested by CFR Marfa at the auction for coal transportation, organized by Oltenia Energy Complex, and attended also by GFR.

In mid-February 2014, prosecutors indicted Gruia Stoica in remand and Doru Bostina banned from leaving the country. Subsequently, on May 9, the court ruled Gruia Stoica to be trialed under home arrest.

Staff

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: October 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The October 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Globalworth Successfully Addressing Market Challenges From a Position
Newsroom | 26/10/2022 | 17:53

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue