Romania posts 8th-lowest unemployment rate in the EU

Sorin Melenciuc 31/08/2018 | 14:34

Romania ranked eight among the European Union member states with the lowest unemployment rate in July, with 4.2 percent of its workforce trying to find a job, according to Eurostat released on Friday. Greece, Spain and Italy post the highest jobless rates in EU.

Romania’s unemployment rate (under ILO standard) stood in July to 4.2 percent – the lowest level in more than two decades – for the third month in a row, despite a slight increase of jobless number, National Institute of Statistics (INS) revised data show.

“The EU28 unemployment rate was 6.8% in July 2018, down from 6.9% in June 2018 and from 7.6% in July 2017. This is the lowest rate recorded in the EU28 since April 2008,” Eurostat said.

Among the EU member states, the lowest unemployment rates were recorded in July in the Czech Republic (2.3 percent), Germany (3.4 percent), and Poland (3.5 percent).

The highest unemployment rates were observed in Greece (19.5 percent in May 2018), Spain (15.1 percent), Italy (10.4 percent), France (9.2 percent) and Croatia (8.8 percent).

Compared with a year ago, the unemployment rate fell in all EU member states.

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Sorin Melenciuc | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue