Industry turnover increased by 7.5 percent in the first five months of 2019

Aurel Dragan 12/07/2019 | 12:34

Turnover in industry sector increased by 7.5 percent in the first five months of the year, as compared to the same period in 2018, as a result of the mining and manufacturing outputs, according to data released on Friday by the National Institute of Statistics (INS).

According to the statistics, in the period January – May 2019, according to the large industrial groups, there were increases in turnover in the following sectors: intermediate goods industry (+ 11.1 percent), capital goods industry (+ 7.2 percent) , the durable consumer goods industry (+ 5.8 percent), the energy industry (+ 5.8 v) and the current use goods industry (+ 3.3 percent).

On a general level, in the first five months of the current year, industrial businesses recorded a 7.5 percent drop due to activities in the extractive industry (+ 12.6 percent) and manufacturing (+ 7.3 percent).

According to the INS, in May 2018, in the same month of 2019, the turnover in industry increased by 7.6 percent as a result of the positive results of the manufacturing industry (+ 7.6 percent) and of the extractive industry (+ 7 percent). By major industrial groups, increases were recorded in the energy industry (+ 9.7 percent), the intermediate goods industry (+ 9.6 percent), the capital goods industry (+ 9.5 percent), the durable consumer goods industry, (1 percent) and the current use goods industry (+ 0.2 percent).

Also, at the comparative level in May 2019 – April 2019, industrial business grew by 8.7 percent due to the manufacturing industry (+ 9.1 percent). On the other hand, the mining industry decreased by 5 percent.

Also in the analyzed period, for the large industrial groups, increases were recorded in the capital goods industry (+ 11.7 percent), the durable consumer goods industry (+ 9.9 percent), the intermediate goods industry (+9.5 percent), the energy industry (+ 7.2 percent) and the current use goods industry (+ 2.5 percent).

Tags: , , ,
BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: May 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The May 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Orange’s New Mission: To Create a One-Stop Shop Experience”. Read it
Aurel Dragan | 24/05/2022 | 10:10

You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu

Close ×

We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

Accept & continue