PHOTO GALLERY! Century’s longest Lunar eclipse

Ioana Erdei 28/07/2018 | 10:48

The longest total lunar eclipse of the century has been watched by millions of people around the world — but the U.S. wasn’t invited to the celestial party.

Statues of ancient Greek goddess Hera, right, and god Apollo in Athens
Photograph: Aris Messinis/AFP/Getty

For almost two hours the “blood moon” sat in Earth’s shadow, glowing a red-brown color as light passing through the planet’s atmosphere bent around its edge and fell onto the surface of the moon.

The Qolşärif mosque in Russia Photograph: Yegor Aleyev/TASS

The event sparked a near-global photo frenzy as Australia, Africa, Asia, Europe and South America witnessed the event.

 Bühl, Germany
Photograph: Ronald Wittek/EPA

Still, stargazers in the U.S. won’t miss out on all the week’s heavenly delights. On Friday night Mars and the Sun were on exact opposite sides of the Earth, and on Tuesday the Red Planet will make its closest approach to Earth in 15 years, when the neighbors will be just 35.8 million miles (57.6 million kilometers) apart. It’ll look bigger and brighter than usual, although amateur astronomers may be disappointed to hear a dust storm currently engulfing the planet may obscure the surface details.

Laufen Castle in Switzerland
Photograph: Melanie Duchene/EPA

The moon remained fully eclipsed until 5:13 p.m. EDT (2113 GMT), with the eclipse at its greatest at 4:21 p.m. EDT (2021 GMT). The event officially ended at 7:28 p.m. EDT (2328 GMT), when the moon fully departed Earth’s shadow.

Colosseum in Rome
Photograph: Gregorio Borgia/AP

The lunar eclipse was only half of the day’s celestial spectacle: Skygazers also got an incredible view of a bright Mars.

 

The temple of Apollo in Corinth, Greece Photograph: Valerie Gache/AFP/Getty Images

 

BR Magazine | Latest Issue

Download PDF or read online: November 2022 Issue | Business Review Magazine

The November 2022 issue of Business Review Magazine is now available in digital format, featuring the main cover story titled “Samsung Remains Top Consumer Tech Provider on Romanian Market.” Read
Ioana Erdei | 29/11/2022 | 10:17

    You will receive a download link for the latest issue of Business Review Magazine in PDF format, based on the completion of the form below.

    I agree with the Privacy policy of business-review.eu
    I agree with the storage and handling of my data by business-review.eu
    Advertisement Advertisement
    Close ×

    We use cookies for keeping our website reliable and secure, personalising content and ads, providing social media features and to analyse how our website is used.

    Accept & continue